#WhistlersInTheDark Ultimate Blog Tour

The biggest thank you to The Write Reads and Scotland Street Press for my spot on the tour and a copy of the book. Victoria Williamson is a favourite author in our house and Whistlers In The Dark has further cemented this.

I absolutely adore the cover art too. A perfect mix of history and magic.

Blurb:

Scotland, 158 AD, is a divided country.

On one side of the Antonine Wall, thirteen-year-old Felix is trying to become a good Roman soldier like his father.

On the other, twelve-year old Jinny is vowing revenge on the ‘metal men’ who have invaded her Damnonii tribe’s homeland.

At the Damnonii’s sacred circle of standing stones, her planned attack on Felix goes badly wrong, awakening a legend that threatens to bring fire and destruction down on them all.

Can Jinny and Felix overcome their differences and soothe the stones back to sleep before it’s too late?

My thoughts:

Another winner from Victoria. I adored Jinny and her attitude, Felix and his bravery but the character who stole the show for me just has to be Bram.

Bram is Jinny’s younger brother who’s outlook on life is something more people(myself included) should aspire to. Despite set backs and difficulties he still has a smile and a kind word.

This is probably the first time I’ve read a roman based book and their customs and living areas were described very clearly and well. Obviously a well researched book. The mixture of history and folklore I found very interesting and has had me looking up more about Scotland.

I would highly recommend this to young historians and young at heart ones who want a fun autumnal read.

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started